My new gig: the offer I couldn’t refuse

December 15, 2011 at 1:08 AM 3 comments

For those who know me IRL (or read about it here), you know I’ve been on a job search for the last few weeks. Having my position eliminated at the end of October gave me the chance for some much needed introspection and the opportunity to redirect my career.

Being unemployed was unnerving, but I knew that the time was right for a career change. With my MA degree nearly finished, I was ready to take my next steps.

So what would I do?

After an awesome mid-October trip to San Francisco, I chose the Bay area and Greater Cleveland to focus my job search. The divergent choices may sound strange to some, but I was balancing my career drive with a growing itch to get away from my hometown.

I had a lot of great conversations and investigated a range of positions, after which I can say from experience that the PR industry is in a healthy growth mode. I was prepared to take on traditional PR roles as well as other content marketing and account service positions. I got to meet and engage with many fantastic folks and entertained a lot of incredible opportunities.

But in the end, I got an opportunity I couldn’t turn down. I started at Marcus Thomas this week, and after careful consideration, wanted to share the three main reasons I took the job:

It enables me to accelerate my career in public relations. My role within the PR group allows me to immediately put my B2B media relations experience to work for a top-notch team and client. I’ll also be working on some consumer-focused products with a combination of digital and traditional tools. Most of all, I’ll be surround by a team of truly passionate PR professionals I can learn from daily.

It allows me to expand outside my core discipline. As a truly integrated marketing agency, Marcus Thomas offers services that span the media industry. Though my forte is PR, being part of a firm that takes a “media agnostic” approach advising clients is a perspective I believe is necessary for success in our shifting media landscape. It’s also a firm that believes strongly in cross-pollination of skill sets and professional development – again a chance to learn daily from everyone around me,  in PR and beyond.

Being close to my nephew Jake was definitely a factor in my decision.

It gives me the chance to live by the lake. It was tough at first to put my SF dreams aside, but in the end it’s for the best. I’m moving from Akron to downtown Cleveland next month and am excited to sink my teeth into city living. As a frequent visitor for the past few years, I’m excited to meet new folks in the “216” and still be close to good friends and family down south.

I’m sure I’ll have more specifics to add about the gig in the coming weeks, but it should suffice to say that I’m pumped up enough after just three days to write a blog post about it. 😉

And if you missed it, I wouldn’t have made it here alone. Another big thanks to those who helped me get here.

road image: nazareneblogs.org

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Giving Thanks to my mentors and colleagues. The Power of Reflection (part 1 of 2)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanine Black (@jeanineblack)  |  December 15, 2011 at 4:10 PM

    Congratulations, Chris! Terrific career move.

  • 2. Chris  |  December 15, 2011 at 6:17 PM

    Thanks, Jeanine. I’m definitely excited for what’s to come.

  • 3. Beth Hallisy  |  December 27, 2011 at 12:03 PM

    Welcome aboard! Great to have you here!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

On Twitter:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Web pages I’ve tagged:

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

