What I’ve been up to…Fighting the good fight

October 6, 2011 at 11:56 PM 3 comments

I realize I’ve been absent from this blog for some time now. It’s a time commitment I’ve chosen to avoid, making my current PR position and some semblance of a social life a higher priority. I appreciate if you missed me, and hope the few posts I have up my sleeves will keep you happy for now. I wish I could promise you regular updates, but I’m not naive enough to do that — besides, I’m a big believer of under-promising and over-delivering.

In order to justify my extended hiatus from Steele Headed, I’d like to share a bit about what I’ve been up to.

Fighting the good Gen-Y PR fight.

My current role has me in a position with less support than traditional communications professionals. Budgets are tight and “arms & legs” resources are expensive, so I’m left to fend for myself as a one-man communications department.  I was hired by someone with 30+ years experience and expected to learn from him. In early 2009, the recession brought on corporate restructuring that left me without a mentor and facing a monstrous communication challenge.

To be fair, my predecessor’s role was both divided and dissolved; it didn’t fall solely on me. But the general thought of a 23-year-old graduate student handling communications activities for a 7,000+ employee, $2 billion global company was an opportunity that charged me beyond belief. Part fear, part naivety, I rapidly expanded my role (a communication intern at the time ), gaining responsibilities and a full-time job in under a year.

It’s been 3 years since then. And I’m still fighting the good fight.

Technically I’m in charge of everything from internal communications to media relations with a sprinkling of much more.

I authored our social media policy and advise our marketing teams on how to leverage it.

I work with two notable PR & advertising firms supporting our globally known brand in a myriad of industries.

I’ve created videos, iPad apps, Web sites, magazine ads, trade show PR plans, employee communication campaigns and award winning proposals.

I’ve counseled senior level executives, orchestrated global employee events, established media relationships and followed every other PR-text-book-tip to succeed. Not to mention a few other books and blog posts I had to pick up on the side.

#notsohumblebrag

I did what I had to do to keep on fighting.

My network of PR pros has been a tremendous source of support, my father being principal among them. Another post will be dedicated to thanking these individuals for their advice and encouragement as I navigate my one-man communications vessel.

My internal network of VPs, managers and colleagues who have placed stock in a 23 (now 26) year old “kid” has also been incredible. Without these folks believing in me (albeit a little unwillingly at times), I wouldn’t have made it a week.

But here I stand. Still fighting the good fight. Pressing on.

I’m not sure what else to say from here. Except that I’m excited to keep on fighting. The progress I’ve made and opportunities still ahead are exciting. I’m happy to be in a field that I love and working for a company that appreciates what PR can do for the organization.

I call it a fight, but in the end, it’s not a fight when you love what you do.

Images courtesy: Mediabiistro.com & free-extras.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gone fishin’ (or why I’ve gone rogue for 18 months) Technology: use wisely

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. James Kopniske  |  October 7, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Wow!! Awesome experience and sounds like you’re mastering the position and challenges just fine.

  • 2. Chris  |  October 8, 2011 at 12:21 AM

    Appreciate the comment and encouragment, James.

  • 3. Rebecca Odell  |  October 9, 2011 at 12:06 PM

    Hi Chris:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere! (Side note: Is that term still socially acceptable?)

    It’s wonderful to hear about the great work you’re doing. You should be proud of what you’ve accomplished in three short years. Keep fighting the good ol’ Gen-Y fight!

    -Rebecca

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

On Twitter:

RSS Web pages I’ve tagged:

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

