Gone fishin’ (or why I’ve gone rogue for 18 months)

July 26, 2011 at 12:01 AM Leave a comment

My apologies for neglecting my blog for the better part of two years. I’d like to tell you I’ve been gone fishing this whole time, but I’m not sure my angling skills are sufficient enough to provide for that long (although it did fill our bellies for 53 days in the arctic).

My sudden and unexplained disappearance from the blogosphere has been for two main reasons and is best summarized with 5 letters:

My J-O-B
I started officially working full-time in the beginning of 2010 at my current employer. Though I was logging well over 40 hrs/week previous to this between school, internships and freelance work, being committed to one employer is something that has required substantial focus.

As an update, I love my job. At the ripe age of 25, I get to play the role of a “one-man communications band,” handling both internal and external communications responsibilities. It’s a fun gigg that I’m bound to dive into in future posts, but suffice it to say that it keeps me busy.

Finishing my M.A.
Any spare moment I find while working a full-time corporate communications gig is dedicated to finishing my Master’s degree in PR. And boy am I oh-so-close. All that is left is finishing off my MA thesis project. The project examines online brand reputation and uses one of my employer’s brands as a case study. It’s been a learning experience to say the least, but something I’ve had fun with throughout. More on this later as well.

So why the return?

Well, like most things I do, it’s a little ambitious and preemptive, but this post my first step on re-starting my blogging career. As I wind down work on my MA project and start eying all the “free time” I’ll have, I know that blogging is a great way for me to catalog my observations on the digital PR profession. More than anything else, I believe it’s a learning tool for me, and for any readers who may stumble upon my posts.

One thing I’ve found both from my J-O-B and finishing my M-A, is that not all lessons need to be learned the hard way. In both the professional and academic worlds, I’ve made my fair share of mistakes and engrained good behavior post-failure. But I’ve also learned a lot from others who shared their experiences with me — be that online or in person. If I can do that for just one person, than any blog I have written will be worth it.

So there you have it. My short and not-so-sweet explanation of an 18-month leave of absence. Hope you didn’t miss me too much, but if you did, you’re obviously not following me on Twitter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m back! — Sorry I didn’t leave a note… What I’ve been up to…Fighting the good fight

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

On Twitter:

RSS Web pages I’ve tagged:

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

