I taught I taw a putty tat

February 24, 2009 at 7:19 PM 17 comments

My name is Chris, and I’m a tweet-aholic.

tweety_bird

Thanks for joining me. I should start off by saying that if you’re unfamiliar with the micro-blogging site, Twitter, it’d be worthwhile to read up on it before diving into my post. A lot of good blogs have touched on the value of Twitter and helped explain its use  since the site started gaining popularity in late 2007. Here’s a few:

I started using Twitter when I helped plan a Media Ethics Workshop that used the site for live updates in September 2008. By no means was it love at first sight. I scoffed at the empty text field and Twitter’s famous prompt: “What are you doing now?”

Heck, I’d been on Facebook for three years and never once filled out a status update. What on earth would possess me to use a site devoted to this nonsense? It’s not that I’m a private person; I’d just rather be doing things than talking about them.  Or tweeting about them.

The truth is, there’ s a whole lot more to Twitter than just telling people what you’re up to (or text-messaging to no one as my girlfriend calls it).

Twitter is a conversation.

Twitter is a resource.

Twitter is news.

Twitter is networking.

Twitter is entertainment.

But…

Twitter is also addicting.

More than anything else, Twitter is a gateway for me. It has opened the door to online resources that would be otherwise un-tapped. I’m connecting to professionals in my region and around the globe. I’m discovering blogs I never would have found through Technorati, or Google Blog search. I’m learning tons about social media and how it can be used effectively on behalf of a company, clients or myself.

It took me a while to discover how to use Twitter to my advantage, and I’m still not too sure what I’m doing.  But I learn more with each tweet and like to think (or hope) that I’m also providing some value to the conversation for others along the way.

Time flies on Twitter

Time flies on Twitter

The downside?

Twitter, like so many other SM tools, can also be a time vacuum. SM guru Chris Brogan, for instance, has averaged 40 tweets per day over the last two years. Hypothetically, this means Mr. Brogan stops what he’s doing once every half-hour to update his 46,000 Twitter followers. I have to wonder: how do people like that get any ACTUAL work done? (Only kidding about this, of course.)

In the realm of PR and converged marketing, though, tweeting is working — or at least it can be. As companies sign-up on Twitter and agencies explain the value to their clients, Twitter is exploding. But it’s certainly not pervasive, and likely never will be. Unless your business is SM, the days of using Twitter as a direct channel to your customers hasn’t arrived yet. It is, however, still a valuable resource for the PR professional, and a great way to tap into SM, even for a novice like me.

…And like clock work, as I finish up this post, I get a tweet that sums it all up:

“What’s Twitter all about? Listening to smart voices from 360 degrees. Listen in every direction, and help where you can.” (courtesy @ikepigott)

*Tweety image courtesy of jldfineart.com

*Time Flies image courtesy of blavish.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Are blogs dead? Am I too late? Are we friends on Facebook yet?

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christina  |  February 27, 2009 at 4:31 AM

    I really enjoyed your post on tweeting. Like you, I’m still trying to figure out all the nooks and crannies of Twitter but I think there is a wealth of information out there. People are using Twitter in a very smart way and it’s interesting to see how people or organizations are using it.

    I look forward to your next post!

  • 2. Chris  |  February 27, 2009 at 6:53 AM

    Thanks for the comment, Christina! I know we’re both very much in the exploration phases of our SM use, but I think the important thing is that we’re incorporating it in our learning process as part of our education. Though Twitter’s not the end-all-be-all, it’s another tool in the PR practitioners belt, and something we need to learn more about.

    Plus it’s fun!

  • 3. Bill Sledzik  |  March 5, 2009 at 5:33 PM

    Sorry it took so long for me to post a comment. I don’t read many blogs these days, and that’s the truth. I visit my feeder once a week, scan a few posts, then click “mark all as read.”

    How can an established blogger be so negligent about the b-sphere? Blame it on Twitter. I spend way, way too much time there. And the blogs I now read are pretty much those whose links are tweeted and happen to pass by when I’m in the Twitterverse. Nuts, huh?

    Am I upset about this? Kind of. But like you, I’ve connected to a lot of people and resources that came my way ONLY because of the Twitter connections. This new network doesn’t help everyone, but it seems to work for people named Sledzik. Maybe it’s a DNA thing.

  • 4. Are we friends on Facebook yet? « Steele Headed  |  March 9, 2009 at 9:26 AM

    […] to line-up with my own unwritten “objectives” for online self-promotion. I’ve shared some of my thoughts on Twitter, and tend to agree with My Old Man on LinkedIn. But to me, Facebook is […]

  • 5. The Social Media Involvement Pyramid « Steele Headed  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:34 PM

    […] research like this that gives PR professionals an excuse for wasting half their time on sites like Twitter and […]

  • 6. I-Ran, but I didn’t get away « Steele Headed  |  June 16, 2009 at 4:32 PM

    […] (my pet name for Twitter) helped carry the message of thousands of Iranians and millions more around the world as the masses […]

  • 7. Alyssa  |  August 21, 2009 at 8:01 PM

    I likke this picture of tweety bird it helps me drawl her she’s so cute

  • 8. madelyn ventura  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:16 PM

    add to my freindster

  • 9. lynette  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:56 PM

    i like love this bird every since i was 2 and i am 15 going on 16 this year

  • 10. Anonymous  |  January 30, 2010 at 12:28 AM

    parehas tayong adik kay tweety

  • 11. vanessa  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:25 AM

    i like tweety love,love,love,love,love

  • 12. vanessa ala-triste  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:27 AM

    i like tweety love,love,love,love,love

  • 13. teetee  |  April 5, 2010 at 5:13 PM

    i love tweety but you are talking a bout twitter what do twitter have to do wet tweety bird ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!……………………………………

  • 14. teetee  |  April 5, 2010 at 5:14 PM

    place comment back

  • 15. taytay  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:27 PM

    this is my baby an so all yall need to back up i will fight about that an that is real jonk so if u dont wont to get kock out back the heck up

  • 16. taytay  |  May 2, 2010 at 9:52 AM

    i loved tweety since i was born an i still love it so yall need to back up

  • 17. Pinoy Tambayan  |  July 12, 2013 at 1:31 PM

    Because once you know what your character wants, you know
    who that character is. Interestingly most of the songs of
    Hindi movies or albums are based on romantic themes or has relation with love related aspects of one’s life which in turn have many sub categories such as love at first sight, complaints, one sided love songs etc. Short movies are dainty to the mind, and in some cases the heart.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

On Twitter:

RSS Web pages I’ve tagged:

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

